Merge Volumes - Intergraph Smart 3D - Help

Intergraph Smart 3D Space Management

PPMProductFamily
3D Design and Visualization
PPMProduct
Intergraph Smart 3D
PPMCategory
Help
Version_S3D
12.1(2019)

Merges multiple existing volumes into a single new space. By using the Volume List box to define the spaces to add or remove from the merged space, this command allows for the placement of more complex space shapes than the standard placement commands. For example, with this command, you can create an L-shaped space by merging two overlapping rectangular spaces. The resulting space inherits the properties of the first space that you select for the merge.

When this command is used, the existing spaces are consumed in the merge operation; consequently, the sub-volumes are no longer available as separate entities. The software removes them from the graphic views and groups them under the merged volume in the Workspace Explorer. In this graphic, Merged_Volume was created from Zone1 and Zone2. Deleting a merged volume deletes all of the sub- volumes associated with it.

Merge Volumes Ribbon

Sets options for merging existing spaces into a single new space.

Volume Properties

Displays the Volume Properties dialog box, which allows you to set properties for the volume that you are placing. By default, the new merged space inherits the properties of the first space that you select for the merge.

Volume Selection

Allows you to select the spaces to incorporate in the new volume.

Volume List

Displays the Volume List Dialog Box, which displays information about the volumes available in the model. You can use this dialog box to either add or remove volumes, or you can rearrange their position in the list.

Finish

Generates the defined volume and exits the command.

Reject Selection

Removes the selected volume from the volume list and allows you to continue the volume selection step.

Accept Selection

Accepts the selected volumes and graphically displays the resulting volume.

Name

Displays the default name for the space (as dictated by the active name rule), and allows you to type a different name, if needed.

Type

Specifies the type of volume. Selecting More from the list opens the Select System Dialog Box from which you can select a volume type. The Type list is populated by the reference data and can be customized on a model-by-model basis. For more information on customizing space management reference data, see the Space Management Reference Data Guide, available from the Help > Printable Guides command.

Space folder

Specifies the space folder in which to place the volume. You can create new folders using Create Space Folder. Select More from the list to open the Select Space Folder Dialog Box from which you can select an existing folder that is not currently listed.

  1. Click Merge Volumes on the vertical toolbar.

  2. Select the first volume that you want to merge from a graphic view or from the Workspace Explorer.

  3. Select additional volumes to add. You can merge volumes that are adjacent or overlapping.

  4. Review the selected spaces and make any necessary changes using the Volume List dialog box. For more information, see Volume List Dialog Box.

  5. Type a name for the volume in the Name box.

  6. Select a volume type from the Type list.

    The list in the Type box provides only the last few types selected from the catalog. Choosing More displays the Select System Dialog Box, which allows you to select any type of space found in the catalog database.

  7. Select a folder from the Space folder list. Assigning volumes to a space folder organizes volumes. You can create additional folders with the Create Space Folder command.

  8. Click Accept Selected Volume to view the merged volume.

  9. Click Finish to generate the new volume and save it to the database.

  • To use a volume as a sub- volume for creation of a merged volume, you must have Full Access permissions on the space object, and its status must be set to Working.

  • You can delete, copy, or paste a merged space.

  • Unlike bound volumes, the act of creating a merged volume is not reversible. If you delete the merged volume, all the volumes that were merged are permanently lost.