Advanced Project Preferences Dialog Box - Intergraph Smart Instrumentation - 13.1 - Administration & Configuration - Hexagon PPM

Intergraph Smart Instrumentation Administration

Language
English (United States)
Product
Intergraph Smart Instrumentation
Search by Category
Administration & Configuration
Smart Instrumentation Version
13.1

Enables the Domain Administrator to set restrictions on preferences for the users who work in As-Built or projects.  You select a project on the Preferences Management dialog box, and define the default preferences for that project.  Then, on the Advanced Project Preferences dialog box, you set various restrictions by enabling or disabling certain preference options for the selected project.  In addition, you can copy project preference settings from the default preferences you have defined on the Preferences Management dialog box.  It is possible to copy project preferences to one or more projects at a time.

The advanced preferences cannot be applied to actions performed by the Import and Export preferences of Smart Instrumentation.

After you disable a preference option on the Advanced Project Preferences dialog box, the software automatically disables this option on the Preferences dialog box in Smart Instrumentation environment.  Additionally, the software overwrites the user setting with a setting that you define.

Project users can view the disabled preference options as read-only default settings.  However, individual users can customize the enabled preferences as they need.  They can do this in Smart Instrumentation environment.

Data Window

Module/Feature — Contains a list of Smart Instrumentation modules and features whose preferences the user can customize, within the Smart Instrumentation environment, on the Preferences dialog box.

Category — Contains a list of categories.  On the Preferences Management dialog box, the category names correspond to the names of pages displayed after you expand the hierarchy in the tree view pane.  For example, the New Tag category corresponds to the New Tag page of the Instrument Index preferences.

Sub Category Name — Contains a list of preference options that users can customize within the Smart Instrumentation environment, on the Preferences dialog box.  The sub category names correspond to the names of the options within a specific page of the Preferences Management dialog box.

Enabled — When selected, indicates that users in the current project can customize the option that is displayed beside this check box.  You can select as many check boxes as you require.

By clearing a certain check box, you disable the adjacent preference option customization in the current project, so that the users working in this project will view these options as read-only.

 When you clear the Enabled check box for an property in a particular project, the user is unable to change the value of that item.  If you enable the same item in another project and the user opens that project, the user sees the value that was set in the project where the property was disabled, and not the value from the current project.

 We recommend that you do not disable the temporary folder path option.  This is because in the temporary folder, the software creates temporary files during various activities that users perform in Smart Instrumentation, for example, when creating specifications, generating CAD drawings, hook-up drawings, reports, and so forth.  If you prevent users from specifying individual temporary folder paths, the temporary folder path becomes shared among several users.  This can cause problems with data display when users perform the same activity at the same time, for example, when creating two specifications at the same time.

Enable all — Makes all the preference options available for customization in the current project.

Copy To — Opens the Copy to Projects dialog box, where you can copy the current project preference settings to other projects in the owner operator domain or EPC-Project Mode.

Copy From — Opens the Copy from Projects dialog box, where you can overwrite the current project preference settings with other project preferences.